Help with Dendrobium

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rodrigosf

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm Rodrigo from Brazil and I'm new to this forum, thank you for accepting me.
I've been growing orchids for about a year, so I'm not very experienced yet and would like your help identifying a problem with my Dendrobium.

After flowering, it grew sprouted three new plants and they have been growing just fine until 2-3 weeks ago. I noticed some dark spots on the keikis' leaves and some weird coloring too. These pictures are from two weeks ago:

IMG_1801.jpegIMG_1807.jpegIMG_1802.jpeg

The next days, I noticed the leaves kept getting weird and now they look pretty much all-damaged. Here are some pics I took today:

IMG_1857.jpegIMG_1855.jpegIMG_1851.jpeg

Does anyone have any idea what might be happening to them? I looked everywhere but have yet not found a solution to this specific problem.
Thank you so much in advance!

Rodrigo

Attachments

• IMG_1855.jpeg
    IMG_1855.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 0
Hi Rodrigo, and welcome to the forum!

The damage to the underside of the leaves makes me wonder about mites. They are small and hard to see. Some people use a jeweler's loop or some other 10x magnifying glass. An alternative that I use is to take a white paper towel or tissue and wipe the underside of the leaf. Discoloration might be indicative of mites.

Have you had any changes in your growing environment? Humidity or watering regimen? That may help to narrow in on other causes if no mites are found.

Regarding the circled areas on the tops of the leaves, I am thinking mechanical damage.

Let's see what others see.

Hi Rodrigo, and welcome to the forum!